was successfully added to your cart.


Greedy’s Solo Projects

Love Harmonica (1996)

By | Discography, Greedy’s Solo Projects, Solo Projects | No Comments

love-harmonicaGreedy recorded the solo album, Love Harmonica, his first with TWA Records in 1996. He says, “I found I had written quite a few songs that were too gentle and romantic for Mentals and I wanted to record them in a different way, using just a simple backing of piano, double bass and strings, featuring harmonica as the lead instrument.” The result is a collection of love songs featuring latin, pop and jazz rhythms, lush harmonica and lyrics that explore the insecurity, jealousy, sex, guilt and humour which make up the smorgasbord of modern love.


1 Did I Make You Happy?
2 Time Heals All Wounds
3 You Look Charming In My Pyjamas
4 How Come?
5 Always Thinking Of You
6 No Break In The Chain
7 You Never Know
8 Playtime
9 Your Memory Of Me
10 Kaleidoscope
11 Gone Too Far
12 Bully Me

Greedy’s thoughts about the songs

Did I Make You Happy? Isn’t it amazing how something as physically intimate as making love can leave you wondering ‘was it good enough for you?’

Time Heals All Wounds. Too many long train journeys on my own spent fantasising about the woman sitting opposite.

Charming In My Pyjamas. In old movies when the woman stayed overnight at the man’s place and she is seen the next morning wearing his pyjamas, it was Hollywood code for them having made love. How racy!

How Come? When it comes to romance, sometimes it’s hard to know when you’ve been given your marching orders.

Always Thinking Of You. Playing in a touring band means you’re away from your loved one for long periods, so writing a song about it is cheaper than whiskey.

No Break In The Chain. The whole song appeared in my mind’s eye as a sad French movie about two ex-lovers who can’t get beyond their pain and get back together.

You Never Know. The pain of separation is lessened by the delicious anticipation of her return.”

Playtime Is Over. Jealousywhat a stew of conflicting emotions! Great inspiration for a songwriter. It’s never far away.

Your Memory Of Me. You watch as your lover is lured into the clutches of a smooth-dancing sadist.”

Kaleidoscope. Old style swing jazz with a psychedelic lyric.

Gone Too Far. I saw the great Flacco Jimenez play his Tex-Mex accordion in a London pub, and was impressed by his virtuosity and his sense of humour. This ain’t Tex-Mex – it’s more of a slow cha-cha, but I was going for the humour.

Bully Me. I’m talking about violence on the personal level and how it all adds up to affect nearly everybody. Musically it’s about as experimental as I could get.


Backing Vocals – Linda Nagle (tracks: 3, 4, 8, 10)
Engineer – Jim Blackfoot
Mastered By – Keith Walker
Producer – Greedy Smith, Jim Blackfoot
Programmed By – Alistair Stephenson (tracks: 1, 6)
Saxophone – Andrew Oh (tracks: 4)
Written-By – Greedy Smith

Greedy’s People (1997)

By | Discography, Greedy’s Solo Projects, Solo Projects | No Comments


1 Everybody’s Talking 3:22
2 Always Thinking Of You 4:06
3 You Never Know 4:36
4 Charming In My Pyjamas 2:55
5 Time Heals All Wounds 3:50
6 No Break In The Chain 4:39
7 How Come? 4:25
8 Did I Make You Happy? 4:21
9 Gone Too Far 2:01
10 Your Memory Of Me 2:58
11 Kaleidoscope 4:19
12 Playtime 3:29
13 Bully Me 4:59
14 Close To You 3:47


Bass, Backing Vocals – Paul Robert Burton
Drums, Percussion – Antero Ceschin
Engineer, Mixed By – Mark Thomas
Flute, Saxophone – Michael Hawke (tracks: 7, 9)
Keyboards, Piano, Backing Vocals – Tim Wedde
Mastered By – Ric O’Neill
Piano, Keyboards, Backing Vocals – Charlie Cole
Producer – Greedy Smith, Jim Blackfoot
Vocals, Harmonica – Greedy Smith
Written-By – Burt Bacharach (tracks: 14), Fred Neil (tracks: 1), Greedy Smith (tracks: 2-13)